hand-holding-chrome-symbol-in-sky

Maybe we don’t all live exciting lives like James bond, but you never know when you’ll need to use a computer that isn’t yours, and access your personalized browser-related information.

This is why Google Chrome’s sync feature is surging in popularity. It’s the perfect solution to this common predicament. Once you sign in, it’ll provide everything you need to surf the web – your bookmarks, passwords, apps and favorite extensions. They’re all sent to whatever computer you’re on once you sign in to Google Chrome. Also, whatever changes you make to your settings are instantly saved.

If you’d like to be able to access your personal settings, bookmarks and much more no matter the computer you’re using, our guide will show you exactly how to enable sync in Google Chrome (26.0v).

Sign in to Chrome

To sign in to Chrome, first open the Google Chrome browser. Next, in your browser window, find the three line icon located in the upper right hand corner (found to the right the URL field). Click the icon, then go down and click “Sign in to Chrome..”

signing-in-to-Chrome

After you click the sign in link, a page will load asking you to sign in to Chrome. Sign in with your Gmail address (remember to make sure you remember which address you’re using for consistency) and Chrome will instantly begin the synching process (a bubble will pop up on the right of your screen telling you you’re now signed in, and that your settings, bookmarks and history are being synced with your Google account).

Choose what you want to sync

The beauty of syncing in Chrome is that you can sync everything or just a few certain items, and you can specify all this in Settings. After you’ve signed in, it will ask you to secure your sync settings:

2

Click, “Ok, sync everything” then navigate to the Settings area by clicking on the Settings link at the top of your screen (you’ll only see this the first time you sign in to sync). Every time after you want to adjust your settings after that, click on the three line icon in the upper right hand corner of your screen again and click “Settings.” Once the Settings area is displayed, click on “Advanced sync settings…”

finding-the-advanced-sync-settings

A window will pop up that lets you choose what gets synced when you use Chrome. You can choose “Sync Everything” from the drop-down window (which is the default setting) or you can select “Choose what to sync,” and click/deselect what you’d like to sync. You can choose from the following to sync: Apps, Autofill, Bookmarks, Extensions, Omnibus History, Passwords, Settings, Themes and Open Tabs.

specifying-what-to-sync

Also in this area, you can choose whether Chrome encrypts your data as it’s being sent. Since you’re dealing with sensitive information that’s hanging out in a cloud (and being sent to whichever computer you’re on, usually a wireless network), having Chrome encrypt all synced data is a wise move. Also, here’s some more good tips on maintaining your privacy in Chrome.

Features like sync in Google Chrome are the future of the web. Their slogan is, “Take your web with you,” and with the crazy lifestyles so many of us lead, more people than ever are wanting to synch their web information. To learn more about the full-breadth of syncing in Chrome, visit their official page.