imageGoogle just added a new feature to Gmail that would prove useful in certain situations. Google’s professional service, Google Apps has a useful feature called Email delegation which can enable other Gmail users to access your email account as well as read and respond to messages.

This way someone can check your email for you and reply as well. This also works great if you have more than one account that you’d want to follow, but don’t want to sign in and out all the time.

This new “email delegation” feature has now been enabled for regular Gmail users as well.

We have already seen how to sign Enable Multi Account Sign-In for Google, which lets you sign in with multiple Google account in same browser. But in the Multi Sign in feature, one needs to login to every email account, one after other.

Compared to that, the email delegation feature comes handy if you would like to use a single inbox to manage all your email accounts. This is possible since the delegate Inbox already has access to other accounts.

Enable Email Delegation Feature On Your Gmail Account:

You can delegate access to your Gmail to another person so they can read, send, and delete messages on your behalf. The delegate can also access the other person’s contacts by clicking the Contacts link. Clicking the To, Cc, or Bcc links in the mail compose window will also bring up your contacts.

The person to whom you give access won’t be able to change your password or account settings and neither can they use your Gmail chat. You can add up to 10 users as delegates for your account.

How to Enable this feature for your account:

1) Click on the Settings link on top right of your Gmail window – then click on Accounts and Import tab.

gmail_settings

2) Under ‘Grant access to your account,’ click the Add another account link.

add_account_access

3)  Enter the email address of the person you’d like to access your account and click Next Step.

grant_access_to_gmail_account

4) You’ll see a confirmation message. Click Send email to grant access if you’re sure.

confirm_gmail_account_access

5) The delegate will receive a verification email explaining that you’ve granted access to them.

After the delegate confirms this request, it may take up to 30 minutes for the verification process to be completed. To see if the delegate has confirmed access to your account, look at the Accounts tab in Settings.

Any messages someone else sends from your account will have your name listed in addition to the other person’s name, so they’ll show the sender as: Your Name (sent by Delegate).

Google has explained this process in a simple video:

How to add delegates to your Gmail account

When you’ll have access to more than one account, you’ll be able to access any of them from the account selector in the right top corner.

Each account will be opened in new windows to keep them separated. Signing out of your main account will sign you out of all accounts.

Via: Gmail Blog