Social networking is not for everyone. When Google+ introduced itself, Google wanted to make its social network a one-stop shop. Once logged into Google+, you can interact with your e-mail, calendar, blog, documents and just about every other service Google has to offer. Maybe you gave Google+ a try because you were bored with Facebook, Twitter or another social network. Maybe you gave Google+ a try because everyone else seemed to be ranting or raving about it. However, perhaps you tried it and now find it boring or just not for you. If that is the case, Google makes it easy for you to delete your Google+ account but keep your other services intact. Our guide will show you just how easy it is to delete your Google+ account.

How to delete your Google+ account

Make sure you are logged into the Google+ account you want to delete. Ensure it is the right one. If you use multiple Google+ accounts, it may be possible you are logged into the right one and since there is no way to reverse the process, you want to double-check you are logged into the right account.

Once logged in, click on the “Gear icon” in the top right-hand corner of your browser window.

Google+ settings

From there, click the “Google+ settings” link.

In the left-hand column menu, click the “Google+” link.

Google+

Under the services sub-header, you want to click on “Delete profile and remove associated Google+ features” to get started.

Google+ services

You can do one of two types of delete: You can delete all your Google+ content but keep the account intact or you can choose to delete your Google+ profile in its entirety.

Delete Google+ content or account

If you are not sure if you will come back to Google+, but you do not want your profile data visible, you can opt to delete just the Google+ content.

However, if you are ready to walk away from Google+ entirely, you can delete your complete profile and account.

There is no confirmation screen or anything that Google offers to reverse the process once you click the Remove selected services link. Make sure you have chosen the correct option and are completely sure you want to stop using Google+ before continuing.

Remove selected content

When you are ready to delete your Google+ data or account, click “Remove selected services” to begin the process of purging your Google+ profile or account.

It will take just a few moments for Google to delete the data or account.

Creating new Google+ profile

When it is finished, you will be redirected to the Google+ sign up page. You can choose to Upgrade your existing Google services account or ignore Google+ all together for the time being.

Why delete a Google+ account?

There are many different reasons why a user may opt to delete their Google+ account. Maybe they do not find Google+ appealing or it is just plain boring for them. Perhaps, they have found another social network that does more for them. Even the recent changes to Google’s privacy policy and the kerfuffle that followed may have driven them back to Facebook, Twitter or elsewhere. No matter what the reason you may have for wanting to delete your Google+ account, make sure to take the time to truly think it through especially if you have posted a lot of content through it. Unless you back up your data, it will be lost forever and you will have to start from scratch if you decide to head back to Google+ in the future.