There are many reasons why you want to close you email account. You created an email account but are not satisfied with how it sounds or the service itself isn’t good enough. Or maybe you entered that email on an untrusted website and ended up getting a huge amount of spam or abusive emails.
If you create an email, use it for a while, and forget about it, that email can be used to spam your contacts and send unpleasant messages. So its a good idea to close unused email accounts.
That’s why many of the well known email services give you an option to delete your email account. Here, we have written about how you can close you Yahoo, Gmail or Hotmail accounts. First Log into the email account you want to delete.
Note: Before deleting your account, please read the instructions on the Account Termination page carefully, as important information about your account is included. You can then confirm the deletion of your account.
How to Delete your Gmail Account:
Google has been criticized for the way they have handled user privacy, so they have taken quite a few steps to ensure peace of mind for their users. One of them was the launch of Google Dashboard, which lets you see in one view what data is being stored by Google for the various services you use.
For the same reason Google also gives you easy access to delete either your email address with Gmail or the entire Google account.
Access your Google Account Option by clicking on “Google Account Settings” On right top corner of Google Homepage.
Click on “edit” link next to My Products on the Google Accounts screen. Google then warns you about how this process would be carried out.
If you just delete your email address Google gives you the option to associate another email address to your Google services. That is pretty good since you get to keep your other Google Products intact.
How to Delete your Yahoo Mail Account:
Yahoo doesn’t give a direct access to Account Termination Option within the Yahoo Mail interface. You need to check the help to get to the termination screen.
If you want to delete your Yahoo Email, you can access the Account Deletion screen here.
When you close your account, you lose access to your Yahoo! ID, Yahoo! Mail, and profile names. We will delete your account data and settings across the Yahoo! network. This means you will lose all of your content in: Yahoo! Mail, Yahoo! Address Book, Yahoo! HotJobs, My Yahoo!, Yahoo! Groups, Finance Portfolio and any other area of Yahoo! that can only be accessed with your Yahoo! ID and password.
You can confirm the deletion of your Yahoo Account by confirming your password as shown above.
How to Delete You Windows Live Hotmail Account:
Windows Live Hotmail has made it quite easy to close your email account, just like GMail.
Log into your Hotmail account. Once you are there click on the Options link on the top right corner of your inbox and click on More Options in the dropdown menu.
Under Manage your account section – Click on View and Edit Personal Information.
On the next screen, at the very bottom you would see the “Additional Options” section – Click on “Close Account”
Enter your password and confirm your account deletion by clicking “Yes”. That would do it.
Again, please read the instructions on the deletion screens for any of these accounts, so you know what others things you would lose access to after deleting the email address.